Welcome to DP Biology at OSC - Topic 5 & Option G: Ecology and Conservation 2013

We will use this wiki to keep track of homework and assignments. The dates below indicate what is due BEFORE class on that day.

Tue 4 Sep Day 7: Read & Study Tiger 168-175

Mon 10 Sep Day 1: Notes and learn 5.1.1-5.1.14

Tue 11 Sep Day 2: Questions Tiger page 176

Wed 12 Sep Wed A: What-Why-How Corrections for Option D: Evolution Test uploaded to Managebac

Fri 14 Sep Day 4: Finish dichotomous key from study guide page 34. Read and Study Tiger 196-201. Questions Tiger page 202

Tue 18 Sep Day 6: Notes and Learn 5.5 + Make a dichotomous key to identify each plant and animal phyla required for learning in 5.5.3 and 5.5.4

Thu 20 Sep Day 7: Notes and Learn 5.3

Mon 24 Sep Day 1: Read & Study Tiger 177-182

Tue 25 Sep Day 2: Notes and Learn 5.2. Tiger Questions Page 183

*Pay the business office SLR 4,450 for the new IB Biozone Workbook and show your reciept to Mr. Haris to get your own copy - this is yours to keep*

Wed 26 Sep Wed A: Take a look at the text only carbon dioxide database extract from Baring Head New Zealand and formulate a research question and hypothesis that you could test using this data.
  1. Use Excel or Graphical Analysis to select all or portions of this data into appropriate data collection tables. With appropriate referencing! Hint: you also do not need to retype all of the data into Excel.
  2. Produce a graph of your selected data that can be easily analyzed and used to answer your research question. You may decide to graph and analyse all or just a part of the data, but you must decide how to calculate your uncertainties using standard deviation.
  3. Format this neatly with your name and an appropriate title. Show your best data table and graphing skills.Your work will be assessed against the IA Data Collection and Processing Criteria, so carefully include all aspects and use the IA "Clarification" guide for your work. Give a Clear Title, Research Question, Hypothesis, Data Collection (referenced correctly!) and Data Analysis. The variables do not need to be listed, but should be the same in all aspects of your report and obviously stated within your research question, hypothesis and data analysis.
  4. Print and bring this to class and submit it also to Managebac.

Tue 2 Oct Tue Day 6: Carbon dioxide experiment mini lab report due to Managebac and paper copy in class. This will be assessed as Internal Assessment against the Data Collection and Processing and Conclusion and Evaluation criteria. See MB for further details and use the Clarification and Lab Report Format to guide you to higher marks.

Thu 4 Oct Day 7: Read and Study Tiger 332-333, Notes and Learn G3.3-G.3.6: This will need additional research.

Mon 8 Oct Day1: Notes and Learn G3.7-G3.11: This will need addtional research. Biozone 228-231.

Wed 10 Oct A: HL ONLY - Read and Study Tiger 334-336, Notes and Learn G4.1-G4.6 - This will likely need additional online research. SL Students this is a good opportunity to review using the Biozone Workbook for ecology.

Thu 11 Oct Day 2: Tiger 336 - Critical considerations: in situ or ex situ? Prepare for presentations in pairs. CITES website

Fri 12 Oct UN Day

13-19 October Break

Tue 23 Oct Day 4: Review for test - It would be good to use the Biozone Ecology Chapter as review.

Fri 26 Oct Day 6: TEST Ecology & Evolution 5.4 (All of Topic 5 + G.3.3 to G.3.11 & HL G.4)

Tue 30 Oct Day 7: Review Test Topics

Wed 31 Oct Wa: What-Why-How Test Corrections and Reflections using the Paper 1 Rubric. Submit to MB.

Fri 2 Nov Day 1: What-Why-How Test Corrections and Reflection using the Paper 2 Section A Rubric and The perfected Section B Rubric. Notice, you need to perfect your Section B responses by writing well organized essays with the use of mark scheme regardless of how many marks you earned on each question. This is NOT the same as for the What-Why-How corrections. Upload both sets of corrections in one document to MB.

Mon 5 Nov Day 2: Read and Study 328-331, Notes and Learn G.1.1-G.1.10.

Thu 8 Nov Day 4: Read the Study on Flocking in Sinharaja and answer the questions on the last page. Be prepared to discuss/present your answers when you come to class.

Mon 12 Nov Day 6: Notes and Learn G.2.1-G.2.8

Tue 13 Nov Day 7: Notes and Learn G.2.9-G.2.11 and G.3.1-G.3.2

Wed 14 Nov Wa: HL Notes and Learn G.5

Fri 16 Nov Day 1: Finalize data and calculations for quadrats and enter your work and and analysis onto your group's Google doc. You should be able to determine the populations for your species as well as the uncertainties for each by using standard deviation. Review all of Option G...

Mon 19 Nov Day 2: HL Design a methodology for estimating the population of students in OSC

Thu 22 Nov Day 4: Option G - Ecology and Conservation Test from an IB Exam Paper 3. Come prepared with Pen, Pencil, Calculator, Ruler...

Mon 26 Nov Day 6: HL-Your completed Lincoln Index plan. ALL-Planning lab Research Question, Variables and outline of Background.

Wed 28 Nov Wa: What-Why-How Test Corrections and Reflections using the Paper 3 Rubric. Submit to MB.

Thu 29 Nov Day 7: HL Only - Completion and submission of Lincoln Index population estimation at OSC. Describe what you did and why. Give your data, calculations and estimation of population. Compare your estimation with what it really was for the day. Evaluate what you did and your estimation. Be sure to include difficulties and limitations of using the Lincoln Index in estimating the size of an animal population. Submit this to MB.

Mon 3 Dec Day 1: Completed Simpson's Index Lab Plan. Everything through Background information and a controlled methodology. Submit to MB.